GPS Lap timers

wastntim

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Anybody ever compare traqmate vs. g2xtreme gps lap timers?

Looking for a system for upcoming season. From what I've seen I'm leaning toward the latter, but I've seen a ton of forums that go back and forth between the two.

Anybody looking to try and put a group buy together?

Early93Viper

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I don't know much about either of the systems. You might want to go to Main Page - Trackpedia forums for more info. A lot more track guys there. :2tu: I have been tracking my car for three years now and can't find another site with more knowlegable track day guys.

I have thought about the GPS Lap timers a few times but I have seen people have found it difficult getting the most out of the Lap timer. Reading the data properly and deciding where you're problems are seem to be a skill that many just don't have.

I would say it Definatly should not be your first purchace if your a novice. I feel if your an absoulte expert and want to study the system you might get an extra couple of 10ths out of it. But that's just my opinion. :2tu:

pdmracing

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I have been using the traqmate for around 3 years & its a very easy to use system. I like the fact that you dont need an engineering degree to use it. You can lay multiple laps on top of each other & put others laps on top of yours too. You can disect the lap just by clicking the cursor anywhere on the lap. You pull the dash out & plug it into your computer & download. the display on the computer is cool showing the friction circle, G's MPH ect. You can also wire other sensors like tach, afr & other sensors into it for more data, but I never have.